2014 Grammy production nominations revealed

The Recording Academy announced its nominations for the 56th Annual Grammy Awards in a special one-hour CBS broadcast on Friday, 6 December.

Mastering engineer Bob Ludwig is among the frontrunners with five nominations while Jay Z leads the nominations with nine, including one in each rap category. Other multiple-category nominees include Kendrick Lamar, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Justin Timberlake, and Pharrell Williams who each received seven nominations.

Mercury Prize winner James Blake as well as English singer/songwriter Ed Sheeran will compete against Lamar, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, and country singer Kacey Musgraves for best new artist.

The 56th Annual GRAMMY Awards will be held 26 January, 2014, at Staples Centre in Los Angeles. It will be broadcast live in high-definition TV and 5.1 surround sound on CBS from 8–11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

The engineering, production, mastering and remixer nominations include:


“Get Lucky” – Daft Punk & Pharrell Williams

Thomas Bangalter & Guy-Manuel De Homem-Christo, producers; Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta & Daniel Lerner, engineers/mixers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer

“Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons

Alex Da Kid, producer; Manny Marroquin & Josh Mosser, engineers/mixers; Joe LaPorta, mastering engineer

“Royals” – Lorde

Joel Little, producer; Joel Little, engineer/mixer; Stuart Hawkes, mastering engineer

“Locked Out Of Heaven” – Bruno Mars

Jeff Bhasker, Emile Haynie, Mark Ronson & The Smeezingtons, producers; Alalal, Josh Blair, Wayne Gordon, Ari Levine, Manny Marroquin & Mark Ronson, engineers/mixers; David Kutch, mastering engineer

“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke Featuring T.I. & Pharrell

Pharrell, producer; Andrew Coleman & Tony Maserati, engineers/mixers; Chris Gehringer, mastering engineer


The Blessed Unrest – Sara Bareilles

Sara Bareilles, Mark Endert & John O’Mahony, producers; Jeremy Darby, Mark Endert & John O’Mahony, engineers/mixers; Greg Calbi, mastering engineer

Random Access Memories – Daft Punk

Julian Casablancas, DJ Falcon, Todd Edwards, Chilly Gonzales, Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams & Pharrell Williams, featured artists; Thomas Bangalter, Julian Casablancas, Guy-Manuel De Homem-Christo, DJ Falcon & Todd Edwards, producers; Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta, Guillaume Le Braz & Daniel Lerner, engineers/mixers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer

Good Kid, M.A.A.D City – Kendrick Lamar

Mary J. Blige, Dr. Dre, Drake, Jay Rock, Jay Z, MC Eiht & Anna Wise, featured artists; DJ Dahi, Hit-Boy, Skhye Hutch, Just Blaze, Like, Terrace Martin, Dawaun Parker, Pharrell, Rahki, Scoop DeVille, Sounwave, Jack Splash, Tabu, Tha Bizness & T-Minus, producers; Derek Ali, Dee Brown, Dr. Dre, James Hunt, Mauricio ‘Veto"" Iragorri, Mike Larson, Jared Scott, Jack Splash & Andrew Wright, engineers/mixers; Mike Bozzi & Brian ‘Big Bass"" Gardner, mastering engineers

The Heist – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell, Ray Dalton, Eighty4 Fly, Hollis, Mary Lambert, Baffalo Madonna, Evan Roman, Schoolboy Q, Allen Stone, The Teaching & Wanz, featured artists; Ryan Lewis, producer; Ben Haggerty, Ryan Lewis, Amos Miller, Reed Ruddy & Pete Stewart, engineers/mixers; Brian Gardner, mastering engineer

Red – Taylor Swift

Gary Lightbody & Ed Sheeran, featured artists; Jeff Bhasker, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Butch Walker & Dan Wilson, producers; Joe Baldridge, Sam Bell, Matt Bishop, Chad Carlson, Nathan Chapman, Serban Ghenea, John Hanes, Sam Holland, Michael Ilbert, Taylor Johnson, Jacknife Lee, Steve Marcantonio, Manny Marroquin, Justin Niebank, John Rausch, Eric Robinson, Pawel Sek, Jake Sinclair, Mark "Spike" Stent & Andy Thompson, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne & Hank Williams, mastering engineers


Annie Up (Pistol Annies)

Chuck Ainlay, engineer; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer

The Blue Room (Madeleine Peyroux)

Helik Hadar & Leslie Ann Jones, engineers; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer

The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here (Alice in Chains)

Paul Figueroa & Randy Staub, engineers; Ted Jensen, mastering engineer

…Like Clockwork (Queens of the Stone Age)

Joe Barresi & Mark Rankin, engineers; Gavin Lurssen, mastering engineer

The Moorings (Andrew Duhon)

Trina Shoemaker, engineer; Eric Conn, mastering engineer Label: Andrew Duhon

Random Access Memories (Daft Punk)

Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta & Daniel Lerner, engineers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer


“Days Turn Into Nights” (Andy Caldwell Remix)

Andy Caldwell, remixer (Delerium Featuring Michael Logen)

Track from: Days Turn Into Nights Remixes

“If I Lose Myself” (Alesso Vs. OneRepublic)

Alesso, remixer (OneRepublic)

“Locked Out Of Heaven” (Sultan + Ned Shepard Remix)

Ned Shepard & Sultan, remixers (Bruno Mars)

“One Love/People Get Ready” (Photek Remix)

Rupert Parkes, remixer (Bob Marley and the Wailers)

“Summertime Sadness” (Cedric Gervais Remix)

Cedric Gervais, remixer (Lana Del Rey)


Live Kisses (Paul McCartney)

Al Schmitt, surround mix engineer; Tommy LiPuma, surround producer

Sailing the Seas of Cheese (Deluxe Edition) (Primus)

Les Claypool & Jason Mills, surround mix engineers; Stephen Marcussen, surround mastering engineer; Les Claypool & Jeff Fura, surround producers

Signature Sound Opus One (Various Artists: Media Hyperium 3)

Leslie Ann Jones, surround mix engineer; Michael Romanowski, surround mastering engineer; Herbert Waltl, surround producer

Sixteen Sunsets (Jane Ira Bloom)

Jim Anderson, surround mix engineer; Darcy Proper, surround mastering engineer; Jim Anderson & Jane Ira Bloom, surround producers

Sprung Rhythm (Richard Scerbo & Inscape)

Daniel Shores, surround mix engineer; Daniel Shores, surround mastering engineer; Dan Merceruio, surround producer


Hymn to the Virgin (Tone Bianca Sparre Dahl & Schola Cantorum)

Morten Lindberg, engineer

La Voie Triomphale (Ole Kristian Ruud & Staff Band of the Norwegian Armed Forces)

Morten Lindberg, engineer

Roomful of Teeth (Brad Wells & Roomful of Teeth)

Mark Donahue & Jesse Lewis, engineers

Vinci: Artaserse (Diego Fasolis, Philippe Jaroussky, Max Emanuel Cencic, Daniel Behle, Franco Fagioli, Valer Barna-Sabadus, Yuriy Mynenko & Concerto Köln)

Hans-Martin Renz, Wolfgang Rixius & Ulrich Ruscher, engineers

Winter Morning Walks (Dawn Upshaw, Maria Schneider, Australian Chamber Orchestra & St. Paul Chamber Orchestra)

David Frost, Brian Losch & Tim Martyn, engineers; Tim Martyn, mastering engineer

In the Producer of the Year, Non-Classical category, the nominees include Rob Cavallo, Dr. Luke, Ariel Rechtshaid, Jeff Tweedy and Pharrell Williams.