MPG announces 2014 awards shortlist

Now in its sixth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards recognises the enormous contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry. The winner of the Producer of the Year Award also receives a BRIT Award for Best Producer with both awards presented at the Music Producers Guild’s Awards ceremony, which takes place on Thursday February 13th 2014 at the Park Plaza Riverbank Hotel in London.

Encompassing a wide variety of styles and genres, the 2014 shortlist includes albums by David Bowie, Adele, Laura Marling, The Foals, and ZZ Top. The list also includes some of the best new producers including Brighton’s own Disclosure, as well as Mercury Prize winner and Grammy-nominated Jakes Blake for his album Overgrown.

"An MPG Award is highly sought-after by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers," commented MPG Chairman Steve Levine.

"Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. Those who win an MPG Award are known to be at the top of their game as a recording professional.”

The full list is as follows:

UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2014:

Paul Epworth

Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder

Ethan Johns

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by Beats by Dr Dre:

Daft Punk (Thomas Bangalter, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo)

Rick Rubin

Tony Visconti

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Rode:

Catherine Marks

Guy Massey

Mark Rankin

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:

Tom Elmhirst

Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder

Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Mastering Engineer of the Year:

John Dent

Barry Grint

Mandy Parnell

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite/Novation:

Dan Smith & Mark Crew

Disclosure (Guy Lawrence, Howard Lawrence)

Duncan Mills

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year:

Dan Cox

Catherine Marks

Matt Wiggins

Re-mixer of the Year:

Freemasons (Russell Smith & James Wiltshire)

Four Tet (Kieran Hebden)

MJ Cole (Matthew Coleman)

UK Album of the Year, sponsored by Universal Audio:

James Blake – Overgrown

Foals – Holy Fire

Laura Marling – Once I was An Eagle

UK Single Song Release of the Year, sponsored by Shure:

Adele – Skyfall

Everything Everything – Kemosabe

Foals – My Number

Studio of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio:

British Grove Studios

RAK Studios

Strongroom Studios

The A&R Award:

Chris Briggs

Imran Ahmed

Jim Chancellor