MPG AWARDS: All the winners from last night

Producer Charlie Andrew took home the top award at last night’s annual Music Producers Guild (MPG) Awards ceremony, which took place at the prestigious Grosvenor House in Park Lane, London.

Andrew (pictured), who collected the award for Breakthrough Producer in 2013, was nominated for this year’s Producer of the Year Award for his work with Alt-J, Marika Hackman and Sivu. Winning this honour meant that he also automatically received the 2016 BRIT Award for Best Producer, which was presented at the same time.

This year’s MPG Awards also saw a significant increase in the number of female winners. Olga Fitzroy and Catherine Marks were recognised for Recording Engineer of the Year and Breakthrough Producer of the Year, respectively, while FKA twigs won the Awards for UK Single (Pendulum) and UK Album (LP1) of the Year, both of which she co-produced. There was also an MPG Inspiration Award for Sylvia Massy, whose hugely successful career in the recording industry has embraced many roles including producer, engineer, mixer, writer, artist and educator.

Introduced in 2009 and now well established as an annual music industry event, the MPG Awards 2016, in association with Prism Sound, also honoured producer and artist Youth (Martin Glover) with the MPG’s Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award. Youth, who is one of the founding members of Killing Joke, later took to the stage to entertain guests with a live performance featuring a number of the artists he has produced over the years including Killing Joke, Alex Paterson from the Orb and The Verve’s Richard Ashcroft.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards director, said: "The diversity of talent winning MPG Awards this year is truly outstanding and we are proud to be reflecting the ever rising number of women in the top tier of music making. It was yet another all-round great night for the UK music business."

The 2016 MPG Awards saw a total of 16 awards presented. These included the MPG Award for Innovation won by Geoff Emerick, who engineered all but a few of The Beatles’ recordings between 1966 and 1968. There was also a Special Recognition Award for former PPL chairman Fran Nevrkla in honour of the work he has done over the years to promote the financial interests of recording professionals.

For a full list of 2016 MPG Award winners and sponsors, see below:

UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2016
Charlie Andrew

Outstanding Contribution to UK Music, sponsored by PPL
Youth (Martin Glover)

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by AMS Neve
Olga Fitzroy

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic
David Wrench

Mastering Engineer of the Year, sponsored by SADiE and Transco Blanx
John Davis

UK Album of the Year, sponsored by G-tech and Jigsaw24
FKA Twigs – LP1

UK Single Song Release of the Year, sponsored by Shure
FKA Twigs – Pendulum

Re-mixer of the Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite
Catherine Marks

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Musicguard Insurance
Brett Cox

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by Pro Tools Expert
Max Martin

Studio of the Year, sponsored by Avid
Air Studios

The A&R Award
Chris Briggs

The MPG Award for Innovation sponsored by Audio Note
Geoff Emerick

The MPG Award for Inspiration sponsored by Universal Audio
Sylvia Massy

Special Recognition Award
Fran Nevrkla