MPG opens voting for 2014 awards

Voting is now open for the 2014 Music Producers Guild awards, with all full members of the Guild entitled to take part in the process that will determine the shortlist in 12 of the 15 award categories.

“Once again, our call for nominations has generated a fantastic response and we’re thrilled to see such a diverse range of projects and individuals on the list," commented MPG chairman Steve Levine.

"In the five years since we launched the MPG Awards we have seen a steady increase in the number of nominees. This indicates just how coveted an MPG Award is to those recording professionals who work so hard to create the music that we all enjoy.”

The MPG awards were created to celebrate the achievements of the UK’s top producers, engineers, remixers, and mastering engineers. In total there are 15 award categories including:

  • UK Producer of the Year
  • International Producer of the Year
  • Breakthrough Producer of the Year
  • Recording Engineer of the Year
  • Breakthrough Engineer of the Year
  • Mix Engineer of the Year
  • Mastering Engineer of the Year
  • Re-mixer of the Year
  • UK Album of the Year
  • UK Single Song Release of the Year
  • Studio of the Year
  • The A&R Award

The shortlists for the MPG Awards will be announced in December 2013, with judging for the final winners taking place in January 2014.

The 2014 Music Producers Guild Awards will take place at the Park Plaza Riverbank Hotel in Vauxhall, London, on Thursday February 13th. As in previous years, the winner of the MPG UK Producer of the Year category will also be awarded the prestigious BRIT Award for Best Producer.


The MPG has just announced that all full members who vote in every category will be entered into a draw to win a Dave Hill Designs Europa 1 mic/line preamp, which has been donated by KMR Audio. The winner will be announced in December at the MPG Christmas Party (Date and venue TBC).