MPG reveals new board of executive directors

The Music Producers Guild (MPG) has restructured its board of executive directors.

After completing their constituted five year term, the former members of the board, including chairman Steve Levine, have now stepped down from their various roles.

Levine, an award-winning music producer and radio presenter who has worked with a diverse range of artists such as Culture Club, the Beach Boys and Honeyz, will remain involved with the MPG, as will former vice chairman Mark Rose and former CEO Richard Lightman.

"We are very grateful to Steve, Mark and Richard for the sterling work they have done in promoting the interests of recording professionals and forging strong links with other music industry organisations," stated new board member MIck Glossop. "As a result of their efforts, the MPG’s standing is at the highest level it has ever been and our viewpoint is not only heard, but also given the consideration it deserves."

Commenting on the changes, Levine said: "I have been honoured to represent MPG over the last five years and I have thoroughly enjoyed being part of a team that wants to make life better for recording professionals. The past five years have really flown by and it’s reassuring that the MPG board have set in place through its memorandum and articles a natural ‘churn’ cycle so that there will always be new faces and input on the board.

"There are still huge issues to tackle – not least ensuring that recording professionals are properly remunerated and credited for their work – but I feel that we have made enormous strides in recent years and that MPG is now in a much better place than it was when I first became chairman."

The MPG’s new board of executive directors has been announced and is as follows (pictured left to right):

Dan Cox

Bruno Ellingham

Cameron Craig

Andrew Hunt

Mick Glossop