Pro Sound Awards: Mark Ronson and Jim Warren win

Producer Mark Ronson and sound engineer Jim Warren were among the winners at the first Pro Sound Awards, held last night at London’s Ministry of Sound. Ronson received the Recording Production of the Year Award for his work on the Bruno Mars album Unorthodox Jukebox, which reached number one on both the UK and Billboard charts, while Jim Warren bagged the Touring/Live Sound Engineer of the Year trophy for his exemplary work with the band Radiohead.

Toby Alington won Studio Engineer of the Year, Wigwam Acoustics clinched the Installed Sound Team of the Year gong, and Goldcrest Post received the Broadcast Audio Facility of the Year prize.

Other winners on the night included British Grove Studios, Sennheiser’s Mark Saunders and Conrad Fletcher & the Mixbus Audio Team for NT Live.

Xavier Stephenson was named the first Pro Sound Awards Rising Star, while Soundcraft Studer was victorious in the Marketing Campaign category.

Two special awards were presented on the night: acoustician and studio designer Andy Munro was rewarded with Lifetime Achievement recognition; and BEIRG, the British Entertainment Industry Radio Group, took the Grand Prix for its tireless campaigning for adequate access to interference-free spectrum for wireless technology users.

The inaugural event, sponsored by headliners DiGiCo and Sennheiser and held in the famous London nightclub, saw hundreds of guests from across the professional audio industry celebrating and socialising until the early hours of Friday. The party was hosted by staff from across Intent Media’s seven audio and entertainment titles: PSNEurope, Installation, Audio Media, Audio Pro International, MI Pro, TVBEurope and Music Week. The reception was sponsored by Martin Audio, Integrated Systems Europe (ISE) bought the fizz, and Fineline Media Finance kept everyone drinking at the After Party.

The winners list in full:

LIVE/TOURING SOUND (sponsored by Medialease)
Engineer of the Year
Jim Warren

Tour Sound Production
Audio Electronics Mattijsen
for the coronation of King Willem-Alexander, Amsterdam

After-Sales Support
Mark Saunders
, Sennheiser

STUDIO (sponsored by Focusrite Novation)
Engineer of the Year
Toby Alington

Recording Production of the Year
Mark Ronson
for Bruno Mars, Unorthodox Jukebox (album)

Studio of the Year
British Grove

INSTALLED SOUND (sponsored by Genelec)
Team of the Year
Wigwam Acoustics

Permanent Installation Project of the Year
for toboggan run for Winter Olympics, Sochi 2014

Temporary Installation Project of the Year
for David Bowie Is, V&A, London

BROADCAST AUDIO (sponsored by Sony)
Team of the Year
Conrad Fletcher and the Mixbus Audio Team for NT Live

Broadcast Event of the Year
for the Red Bull Stratos Project

Facility of the Year
Goldcrest Post

Soundcraft Studer

RISING STAR (sponsored by Sennheiser)
Xavier Stephenson

Andy Munro

GRAND PRIX (sponsored by DiGiCo)