Sound nominees for BAFTA TV Craft Awards revealed

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced the nominees for this year’s BAFTA TV Craft Awards.

Contenders in the Sound: Factual category include the BBC’s coverage of the 70th anniversary of VE Day and David Attenborough’s Great Barrier Reef series.

BBC Two’s adaptation of Hilary Mantel’s Booker Prize-winning novel Wolf Hall and Sky Atlantic thriller Fortitude(pictured), which relied on London-based Encore for picture and sound pos-production services, are among those nominated in the fictional sound category.

Wolf Hall leads overall with six nods, including Best Costume Design, Editing, and Writer for Peter Straughan. The period drama, which picked up a Golden Globe last year and received nine Emmy nominations, is expected to perform well at the awards.

Fortitude, BBC One magical fantasy adaptation Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, and Working Title/BBC Two’s espionage drama London Spy received four nominations each. Also notable is ITV’s The Sound Of Music Live! which was nominated in three categories.

Casting director Nina Gold will receive the special award at the ceremony hosted by Episodes’ Stephen Mangan on April 24 in London. Her recent credits include Game Of Thrones, Wolf Hall, London Spy and The Fall.

The full list of nominations in the two sound categories are as follows:


VE Day 70: The Nation Remembers – Andy James, Andy Payne, Andy Groves, Julian Pasqua (BBC Events Production/BBC One)

The Naked Choir with Gareth Malone – Daniel Jones, Gareth Malone, Conrad Fletcher, Mat Wood (Twenty Twenty Television/BBC Two)

Great Barrier Reef with David Attenborough – John Rogerson, Richard Addis, Ryan Twyman, Freddie Claire (Atlantic Productions/BBC One)

La Traviata: Love, Death and Divas – Matt Skilton, Mike Hatch, Tony Burke (Reef Television/BBC Two)


The Enfield Haunting – Adrian Rhodes, Jamie Roden, Antony Bayman (Eleven Film/Sky Living)

The Sound of Music Live! – Kevin Duff, Andy Deacon, Sally Hesketh, Ben Milton (ITV Studios Entertainment/ITV)

Fortitude – Rudi Buckle, Phil Barnes, Blair Jollands, Howard Bargroff (Fifty Fathoms Productions and Tiger Aspect Productions/Sky Atlantic)

London Spy – Scott Jones, Rob Brazier, Joseph Stracey, Ian Voigt (Working Title Television/BBC Two)

Wolf Hall – Sound Team (Playground Entertainment, Company Pictures/BBC Two)

Doctor Foster – Stuart Hilliker, Jim Goddard, Billy Quinn, Tom Deane (Drama Republic/BBC One)