Spinal Tap’s Derek Smalls tracks new song at United Recording

Spinal Tap bassist Derek Smalls recently chose United Recording studio to track Butt Call, one of the latest songs included on his first solo album, Smalls Change.

The long-awaited LP, produced by longtime music director and Spinal Tap keyboardist, CJ Vanston, is funded through a grant from the British Fund for Ageing Rockers.

Butt Call comprises a series of heavy sound effects and features Bon Jovi guitarist Phil X and Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins. "In one lifetime, the telephone has gone from a miracle to a pain in the arse," explained Smalls.

The album, set for release on 13 April via Twanky/BMG, features a number of renowned musicians including Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Peter Frampton, Dweezil Zappa, Steve Lukather, Jeff "Skunk" Baxter, Richard Thompson, Donald Fagen, David Crosby, Rick Wakeman, and drummers Taylor Hawkins, Chad Smith, Jim Keltner, Gregg Bissonette and Todd Sucherman.

Vanston, a contributor to numerous albums by world-famous artists such as Prince, Barbra Streisand and Celine Dion, enjoys producing tracks at United Recording: "I’ve worked in Studio B many times in the past, but I’m still impressed with the acoustics of that room, especially the enormous drum sound," he said. "It’s well known how many drummers Spinal Tap has lost looking for that perfect sound. Derek was so moved by the experience, he stated, ‘Time and technology change everything, except the need for change’."

(Pictured: Foo Fighters’ Taylor Hawkins at the drums; Standing (L-R) are CJ Vanston, Ross Hogarth, Wesley Seidman and "Drum Doctor" Ross Garfield – Photo by David Goggin)