‘Arrival’ sound crew wins AMPS Award for Excellence in Sound

AMPS (The Association of Motion Picture Sound) has announced that Sylvain Bellemare, Claude La Haye and Bernard Gariépy Strobl have won the 4th Annual AMPS Award for ‘Excellence in Sound for a Feature Film’ for their work on Arrival.

Bronze trophies will be presented to the winners, while sound crew members who have creatively contributed to the winning soundtrack will each receive a Certificate of Merit.

Five films exhibited in 2016 were selected by an AMPS Awards Committee, from which leading sound crew members (production sound, sound editing and re-recording) were nominated for award. A further ballot among all AMPS voting members selected the winning film.

The nominees were:

Arrival; Sylvain Bellemare, Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariépy Strobl

Deepwater Horizon; Dror Mohar, Mike Prestwood Smith, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them; Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes AMPS, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp AMPS

Hacksaw Ridge; Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O¹Connell, Andy Wright

La La Land; Mildred Latrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Morrow, Andy Nelson

On receiving the news, Bernard Gariépy Strobl commented, “Its an honour to have been named alongside those wonderfully sounding films and an even greater one to have won!”

AMPS veteran Graham Hartstone added, “Congratulations to the winners, and indeed all the nominees, it’s special to have your work recognised by ones peers.”

Long-time AMPS sustaining member, Dolby Laboratories, once again acted as headline sponsor for this year’s award. The award program was created in celebration of the Association’s 25th anniversary in 2014 and also recognises the craft of sound in television with the annual award for ‘Excellence in Sound for a Television Drama.’ There are also plans to expand in future years to include a broader selection of creative sound technicians.