Hollywood Post Alliance names 2015 sound award nominees

The Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA) has lifted the curtain on this year’s nominees for the HPA Awards. Now in its 10th year, the ceremony honours artistic excellence and creative achievements within the greater post production industry. The HPA Awards are considered ‘the standard-bearer for excellence and innovation in the industry’, which now embraces an expanding array of technology, content management and media distribution.

Among the categories, the HPA Awards recognise outstanding achievement in Sound in television and commercials. The winners of the 10th Annual HPA Awards will be announced at a gala ceremony on 12 November 2015, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

The 2015 HPA Award nominees are: 

Outstanding Sound – Television

Halt and Catch FireSETI 
Sue Cahill, Keith Rogers, Scott Weber, Jane Boegel, Mark Cleary, Kevin McCullough – NBCUniversal StudioPost

Black Sails – XVIII
Benjamin Cook, Stefan Hendrix, Jeffrey Pitts, Sue Cahill, Onnalee Blank, Matthew Waters – Starz

Game of Thrones – Hardhome
Tim Kimmel, Paula Fairfield, Bradley Katona, Paul Bercovitch, Onnalee Blank, Mathew Waters – Formosa Group

Banshee – You Can’t Hide from the Dead
Bradley North, Joseph DeAngelis, Ken Kobett, Tiffany Griffith, David Werntz – Technicolor

Homeland – Redux
Nello Torri, Alan Decker – NBCUniversal StudioPost 
Craig Dellinger – Sony Sound Services

Outstanding Sound – Commercial

Medicontour – Bi-Flex 1.8
Phil Bolland – Factory

The Syria Campaign – In Reverse
Jon Clarke – Factory

Honda – The Other Side
Tom Joyce, Anthony Moore – Factory

Volvo – The Swell
Aaron Reynolds – Wave Studios

Prada – The Battlefield
Miky Wolf – Big Sky Edit

In addition, a number of special award winners have been announced, including Leon Silverman, recipient of the 2015 HPA Lifetime Achievement Award. ESPN Digital Center 2 has also been recognised with the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation, and five companies will be honoured with awards for Engineering Excellence: Canon, Dolby Laboratories, Panasonic, Quantel, and Sony Electronics.