The Flaming Lips sign to Bella Union record label in UK

A perennial favourite amongst Audio Pro International’s readers are news stories surrounding the uniquely engaging Oklahoma-based psychedelic rock band, The Flaming Lips.

In recent months the band has released a song based on Apple iPhone’s Siri voice assistant and released a frankly remarkable 6-hour song.

So what is new from The Flaming Lips camp? Well, for British fans it is very good news indeed. The record label Bella Union has announced that they have signed the band.

As a result, the first release on their new label in the UK will be their recently released album The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends.

The EP was originally released on vinyl in the US on Record Store Day (April 21st) with a run of 10,000. Somewhat unsurprisingly, these sold out pretty quickly.

The 13-track album—which will be released in the UK on July 30th—features a remarkably diverse list of collaborators from Ke$ha to Bon Iver, Erykah Badu to Yoko Ono and Nick Cave to Neon Indian as well as many more.

Here is the tracklist in full:

1. “2012 (You Must Be Upgraded) (w/ Ke$ha, Biz Markie & Hour Of The Time Majesty 12)
2. “Ashes In The Air” (Featuring Bon Iver)
3. “Helping The Retarded To Know God” (Featuring Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros)
4. “Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee” (Featuring Prefuse 73)
5. “Children Of The Moon” (Featuring Tame Impala)
6. “That Ain’t My Trip” (Featuring Jim James of My Morning Jacket)
7. “You, Man? Human???” (Featuring Nick Cave)
8. “I’m Working At NASA On Acid” (Featuring Lightning Bolt)
9. “Do It!” (Featuring Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band)
10. “Is David Bowie Dying?” (Featuring Neon Indian)
11. “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” (Featuring Erykah Badu)
12. “Girl, You’re So Weird” (Featuring New Fumes)
13. “Tasered And Maced” (Featuring Aaron Behrens of Ghostland Observatory)

Keep up to date with the latest developments from the world of pro audio by registering for our free daily newsletter.