PRO SOUND AWARDS: Wigwam celebrates ‘Installation Team’ success

Wigwam Acoustics has been celebrating its ‘Installation Team Of The Year’ victory at the inaugural Pro Sound Awards.

SSE Audio Group, which acquired Wigwam back in April, was also nominated for the Tour Sound Production Award for its work on Jesus Christ Superstar.

Director Mick Spratt (pictured), who collected the award on behalf of the team, said: "People often think of us as just a rental company, so this award is great for the installation lads. Wigwam has carried out installations for the past 30 years, but the hard work of Tim Mortimer, Phil Goldsworthy, David Orridge and the rest of the team over the last three years is really paying dividends."

The ability to work in listed buildings is one of the qualities that sets the Wigwam team apart from much of the competition, the firm says. “A lot of companies are wary of going near these buildings that are a major part of English heritage,” Tim Mortimer, installations manager at Wigwam Acoustics explained.

For Wigwam, its list of past projects, which includes the cathedrals in Lincoln, Liverpool and Salisbury, helps to bring in more work of this kind.

The award extends to the five people at the heart of the installation department: installations manager Phil Goldsworthy, David Orridge, Nigel Comrie, Spratt and Mortimer.

Recent installations carried out by the team include a d&b audiotechnik set-up for York University Central Hall, sound and AV systems for St Paul’s Salisbury and Danbury Mission and audio equipment for the Ruby Lounge and Fallow in Manchester.

John Penn, MD of SSE Audio Group concluded: "This is great recognition for Wigwam’s Installation Department, which has not had the profile it deserves, partly because of the strength of the hire department, for which Wigwam is synonymous. This award demonstrates how good the team at Wigwam is – part of the reason that we are really pleased they are now part of SSE Audio Group."

The first Pro Sound Awards took place at London’s Ministry of Sound on September 19th 2013. For the full list of winners, click here, or visit the Awards website for more information on the event.

Keep up to date with the latest developments from the world of pro audio by registering for our free daily newsletter.