AES appoints Jonathan Wyner as president

The AES (Audio Engineering Society) has appointed Jonathan Wyner as its president.

“Jonathan has proven his leadership and vision during his year on the AES Board of Directors as president-elect,” commented outgoing AES president Agnieszka Roginska. “The AES is in excellent hands for the coming year.”

Wyner brings a wealth of experience to the role, including more than three decades as both an AES member and as an audio professional. He has served as chief engineer at M Works Mastering, education director at iZotope in Cambridge, MA, and professor at Berklee College of Music in Boston. 

Wyner has also worked in numerous AES roles, including serving on the Board of Directors, the Board of Governors, and as a member of multiple committees including Broadcast and Online Delivery and the Recording Technology and Practices Technical Committee and the Diversity & Inclusion committees. He chaired a Symposium focused on Machine Learning Application in Audio during the fall of 2020. Wyner was presented with AES Board of Governors Awards in recognition of co-chairing the 145th and 147th AES Conventions in New York in 2018 and 2019 and the online 149th AES Convention in 2020.

You may also be interested in:

“The AES is the most varied international assemblage of experts, thought leaders, researchers, manufacturers and practitioners of audio in the world,” said Wyner. “During our recent fall event we had attendees from 82 countries. Each of us has our individual interests and goals for our work, but a passion for audio ties us together. There are so many interesting and exciting developments taking place in the world of audio. The pillars I am energized to stand up can be summed up in three words: Equity, Sustainability and Innovation.”

An established musician and performer, Wyner, has mastered and produced thousands of recordings, with credits including James Taylor, David Bowie, Aerosmith, Kiri Te Kanawa, the London Symphony, Miles Davis, Semisonic, Thelonius Monk, Pink Floyd, and Nirvana.