NAMM TEC Awards nominees announced

The NAMM Foundation has revealed the nominees for its 31st Annual NAMM Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards in the categories of Outstanding Technical and Creative Achievement.

The awards celebrate the best in professional audio and sound production, and voting begins December 1st, with winners announced at the ceremony on 23 January 2016, held in the Anaheim Hilton’s Pacific Ballroom.

“The story of our industry, and for that matter, the story of NAMM is not some sterile business-school myth,” remarked Joe Lamond, president and CEO of NAMM. “It is the story of passionate individuals who followed their dreams and against all obstacles persevered and succeeded in making the world a more musical place. The TEC Awards and the TEC Hall of Fame honours these pioneers for their vision and service and we are grateful for their contributions.”

Among the nominees for Outstanding Technical Achievement in the Studio Monitor category is Genelec’s 8351A, which goes up against the Amphion One18 (reviewed by AMI earlier this year), ATC SCM45A, Augspurger Duo 8, Barefoot Sound MicroMain45 and JBL 7 Series.

Powersoft has also responded to the news that its Ottocanali DSP+D amplifier and M-System loudspeaker transducer have both been named nominees in the categories of Amplification Hardware – Studio & Sound Reinforcement and Sound Reinforcement Loudspeakers.

"We are humbled to receive TEC Award nominations for Ottocanali DSP+D and M-System," commented Francesco Fanicchi, head of brand and communications. "We are grateful to the TEC Foundation for recognising the innovation in both of these products following what has been a very successful launch in the global marketplace."

Other Amplification finalists include the Antelope Audio Satori, d&b D20, Hafier HA75, Mytek Manhattan and QSC GXD, while the M-System faces competition from the EAW OTTO sub, EV EKX Series, JBL VTX V25-II, Meyer Sound LEOPARD – reviewed in our last issue – and Turbosound iQ Series.

There are also eight categories for Outstanding Creative Achievement, including TV Sound Production (Game of Thrones, Nashville); Film Sound Production (American Sniper,Birdman); Record Production/Single or Track (Baltimore from Prince, Dreams from Beck) and more. 

The founders of Record Plant will also be inducted into the NAMM TEC Hall of Fame for their work in capturing music that stretches across generations of the American musical experience, including Stevie Wonder’s Songs in the Key of Life, The Eagles’ Hotel California and live recordings captured with the Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton. At the helm of three Record Plant studios were Chris Stone and the late Gary Kellgren; their New York-based Studio A was the first studio designed for mixing quadraphonic (surround) sound.

In total, winners in more than 30 categories will be selected from the 180 nominees. The full list of the nominees can be found on the TEC Awards website.

The 23 January event begins with a reception at 6pm, followed by the awards ceremony at 7pm. Tickets are available now.

Picture: Christian Poulsen, MD of DPA Microphones, which won the Microphones – Sound Reinforcement TEC Award back in January 2015