PRO SOUND AWARDS: Finalists revealed

The shortlist for this year’s inaugural Pro Sound Awards (in association with Sennheiser and Digico) has been drawn up.

The event takes place on Thursday September 19th 2013 at Ministry of Sound, London, with a Drinks Reception and Buffet Dinner, followed by an exclusive After Party.

A panel of independent judges from across the pro audio industry will now begin looking over the shortlisted nominations in order to pick the winners before the big night in just over two months.

Here’s the list of finalists in full…

LIVE/TOURING SOUND (sponsored by Medialease)

Engineer of the Year:

Ben Hammond

Antony King

Jim Warren

Ben Findlay

Tour Sound Production:

Audio Electronics Mattijsen for the coronation of King Willem-Alexander, Amsterdam

Capital Sound for Mumford & Sons UK arena tour

Adlib Audio for The Script Arena Tour

SSE Audio Group for Jesus Christ Superstar

After-sales Support:

Mark Saunders for Sennheiser 




STUDIO (sponsored by Focusrite/Novation)

Engineer of the Year:

Simon Rhodes Abbey Road

Mark Winterburn Edge Recording Studios

Alalal (Al O’Connell)

Toby Alington

Recording Production of the Year:

Andre Jacquemin for A Liar’s Autobiography

David Wrench for Sunless ’97 Aurora EP

Ben Drew, Eric Appapoulay and Al Shux for Playing with Fire (single)

Mark Ronson for Bruno Mars Unorthodox Jukebox (album)

Studio of the Year:

Snap London

British Grove London

Astar Studios Lancashire

Wisseloord Netherlands

INSTALLATION (sponsored by Genelec)

Team of the Year:

Wigwam Acoustics

Soliflex Svenska (Jan Setterberg and Fredrik Setterberg)

Stage Electrics

‘Friends Arena’ team (consultants Steve Liddle & Ingmar Olsson, Integrator James Hurst Of LBI Projects, David Howe of Bosch Prosound UK)

Permanent Installation Project of the Year:

L-Acoustics for Hollywood Bowl

Sonic Emotion for Aura club, Zurich

Tileyard Studios, London

Funktion-One for toboggan run for Winter Olympics, Sochi 2014

Temporary Installation Project of the Year:

Optocore for Kuwait’s 50th Constitution Day Celebrations

L-Acoustics for the Olivier Theatre, National Theatre, London

Philharmonia Orchestra’s Digital Department for Universe of Sound, Birmingham/Canterbury

Sennheiser for David Bowie is, V&A, London

BROADCAST AUDIO (sponsored by Sony)

Team of the Year:

Conrad Fletcher + Team for NTLive

The X Factor sound team

The BRIT Awards 2013 team

Red TX for Strictly Come Dancing Live at Wembley Arena 

Broadcast Event of the Year:

ITV Yorkshire for the Live Episode of Emmerdale, October 2012

Riedel for the Red Bull Stratos Project

Red TX for Sound of Change Live, Twickenham, UK

Sennheiser for the Eurovision Song Contest

Facility of the Year:




Evolutions Post



d&b audiotechnik


Soundcraft Studer

RISING STAR*(sponsored by Sennheiser)

James Hill, Steel City Studio/Hangman Productions

Julien Pirrie, Goldcrest 

Karen Down, Solid State Logic

Xavier Stephenson, Metropolis Studios

(*winner will be selected by Audio Pro International)


(to be announced by Pro Sound Awards team)

GRAND PRIX (sponsored by Digico)

(to be announced by Pro Sound Awards team)

For more details on the Awards, including how to book tickets, click here.

Keep up to date with the latest developments from the world of pro audio by registering for our free daily newsletter.